The ISZ Secondary is divided into three sections: Years 7-9 IMYC, Years 10-11 IGCSE, and Years 12-13 A-Levels. All three sections use an internationally recognized curriculum that is rigorous and challenging.

International Middle Years Curriculum (IMYC)

The IMYC helps students make meaning of their learning by:

  • Linking all subject learning to a conceptual theme;
  • Responding to the specific developmental needs of 11-14 year olds;
  • Working towards understanding through a personal and global perspective.

Each IMYC unit of work follows a conceptual theme known as the Big Idea. Neuroscientists say the brain learns ‘associatively’, always looking for patterns and linking to previous learning. In primary schools, teachers often find these links for students and regularly mention links between discreet subjects’ learning. The organisation of secondary school teaching and learning is often within departments, resulting in students suddenly having the responsibility of finding their own links in their learning. The aim of the IMYC is to help students develop the habit of identifying links in their learning for themselves through linking all learning with the Big Idea. The IMYC links the knowledge, skills and understanding of each subject to the most appropriate Big Idea.

>View the curriculum maps for Year 7Year 8, and Year 9<<

IGCSE (Years 10 and 11)

In Years 10 and 11 students follow courses that lead to International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE). These exams are accredited by the University of Cambridge International Examinations (CIE).

We offer courses in English Language, World Literature, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Maths, History, Business & Economics, Geography, Swahili, French and ICT. Students are taught by experienced and qualified specialist teachers.

>View the curriculum maps for Year 10 and Year 11<<